Asbestos treatment and disposal



Technical rules for hazardous substances, asbestos demolition, reconstruction or maintenance work


Technical rules for hazardous substances Asbestos demolition, reconstruction or maintenance work TRGS 519


TRGS 519 (=Technical Rules for Hazardous Substances) must be observed in connection with asbestos or asbestos-containing hazardous substances in case of demolition, reconstruction or maintenance work or waste disposal.

Maintenance work


Maintenance work covers all measures to preserve the normal condition (servicing), the diagnosis and evaluation of its actual state (inspection) and the restoration to its normal condition (repair), including the re-installation of asbestos-containing products; see DIN 31 501 “Maintenance, Terms and Measurements”. Maintenance work covers all ancillary work and preliminary measures as defined in asbestos directives (see number 17), for example coating, damage repair, joint closure.


Ancillary work


Necessary tasks include:
  • entering rooms contaminated with asbestos dust
  • sampling (material samples, measurement of air)
  • clearing rooms contaminated by asbestos dust
  • setting up construction sites, insofar as the release of asbestos fibres cannot be excluded
  • cleaning asbestos-contaminated rooms or objects
  • in-company transport and storage of asbestos-containing hazardous substances



Persons with expert knowledge


Persons with expert knowledge are persons who have professional qualifications and experience in handling asbestos-containing hazardous substances and who are familiar with the national protective regulations, accident prevention regulations, the directives and the engineering rules that apply, thus enabling them to assess the necessary protective measures when working with asbestos-containing hazardous substances.

Proof of qualification is furnished by successful participation in an officially recognised training course for handling asbestos-containing hazardous substances (for contents of training course, see attachment 3 and 4 on this TRGS). Successful participation is proven by taking an exam.

Maintenance work involving low exposure according to number 2.8 can be carried out, deviating from paragraph 2, by persons who have expert knowledge by participation in sector-specific training courses with a minimum duration of five hours. These courses can be offered by professional associations or unions and in co-operation with trade associations or trade supervisory centres. They are organised as complete courses and do not require official recognition (for training course contents see annex 5 on this TRGS). The responsible authority must be notified of the training course. Proof of qualification according to sentence 1 is also deemed to have been provided if the relevant expert knowledge according to annex 5 to this TRGS has demonstrably been taught in the context of the occupational training.

Attendance at an officially recognised training course according to annex 3 includes the acquisition of expert knowledge according to annex 4 and 5. Participation in a training course according to annex 4 and 5 includes expert knowledge that is particularly mentioned in the course description.


Our employee Günther Deißler is certified by DEKRA according to number 2.7 and attachment 4 of the TRGS 519 for activities involving asbestos.

VDI6022_thumb

Asbestbearbeitung und Entsorgung



Technische Regeln für Gefahrstoffe Asbest Abbruch-, Sanierungs- oder Instandhaltungsarbeiten


Technische Regeln für Gefahrstoffe Asbest Abbruch-, Sanierungs- oder Instandhaltungsarbeiten TRGS 519


TRGS 519 gilt für den Umgang mit Asbest und asbesthaltigen Gefahrstoffen bei Abbruch-, Sanierungs- oder Instandhaltungsarbeiten (ASI-Arbeiten) und bei der Abfallentsorgung.

Instandhaltungsarbeiten


Instandhaltungsarbeiten umfassen alle Maßnahmen zur Bewahrung des Soll-Zustandes (Wartung) zur Feststellung und Beurteilung des Ist-Zustandes (Inspektion) und zur Wiederherstellung des Soll-Zustandes (Instandsetzung) einschließlich des ggf. erforderlichen Wiedereinsetzens asbesthaltiger Produkte; auf DIN 31 501 "Instandhaltung, Begriffe und Maßnahmen" wird verwiesen. Unter Instandhaltungsarbeiten fallen die erforderlichen Nebenarbeiten und auch vorläufige Maßnahmen im Sinne der Asbest-Richtlinien (siehe Nummer 17), wie z.B. Beschichten, Ausbessern von Beschädigungen, Schließen von Fugen.


Nebenarbeiten


Nebenarbeiten sind z.B.
  • Begehen von Räumen, die mit Asbeststaub belastet sind,
  • Probenahme (Materialproben, Luftmessung),
  • Ausräumen von asbeststaubbelasteten Räumen,
  • Einrichten von Baustellen, soweit dabei eine Freisetzung von Asbestfasern nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann,
  • Reinigen asbeststaubbelasteter Räume oder Gegenstände,
  • betrieblicher Transport sowie Lagerung asbesthaltiger Gefahrstoffe.



Sachkundige Personen


Sachkundig sind Personen, die aufgrund ihrer fachlichen Ausbildung und Erfahrung ausreichende Kenntnisse im Umgang mit asbesthaltigen Gefahrstoffen haben und mit den einschlägigen staatlichen Schutzvorschriften, Unfallverhütungsvorschriften, Richtlinien und allgemein anerkannten Regeln der Technik so vertraut sind, dass sie die erforderlichen Schutzmaßnahmen beim Umgang mit asbesthaltigen Gefahrstoffen beurteilen können.

Der Nachweis der Sachkunde wird erbracht durch die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an einem behördlich anerkannten Lehrgang über den Umgang mit asbesthaltigen Gefahrstoffen (Lehrgangsinhalt siehe Anlagen 3 und 4 zu dieser TRGS). Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme ist durch eine Prüfung nachzuweisen.

Abweichend von Absatz 2 kann bei Instandhaltungsarbeiten mit geringer Exposition nach Nummer 2.8 der Nachweis der Sachkunde auch durch Teilnahme an branchenspezifischen, mindestens fünfstündigen Lehrgängen erbracht werden, die von Innungen, Kammern oder Verbänden unter Beteiligung von Berufsgenossenschaften oder Gewerbeaufsicht als geschlossene Lehreinheit veranstaltet werden (Lehrgangsinhalt siehe Anlage 5 zu dieser TRGS), die keiner behördlichen Anerkennung bedürfen. Der Lehrgang ist der zuständigen Behörde anzuzeigen. Der Nachweis der Sachkunde nach Satz 1 gilt ebenfalls als erbracht, wenn im Rahmen der Berufsausbildung nachweislich die entsprechende Sachkunde nach Anlage 5 dieser TRGS vermittelt worden ist.

Die Teilnahme an einem behördlich anerkannten Lehrgang nach Anlage 3 schließt den Erwerb der Sachkunde nach den Anlagen 4 und 5 ein. Durch die Teilnahme an einem Lehrgang nach den Anlagen 4 oder 5 kann die Sachkunde nur für die Arbeiten erworben werden, für die der Lehrgang ausdrücklich benannt wurde.


Unser Mitarbeiter Günther Deißler ist DEKRA zertifiziert nach Sachkunde Nummer 2.7 und Anlage 4 der TRGS 519 für Asbestarbeiten.

VDI6022_thumb